Effective January 1, 2015, Ohio’s minimum wage will increase to $8.10 per hour for non-tipped employees and $4.05 per hour for tipped employees. The increase applies to employers with more than $297,000 in annual gross receipts. The change was triggered by the 2006 Amendment to the Ohio Constitution, which tied the state minimum wage to inflation, with automatic increases every January 1. For employees at smaller companies (with annual gross receipts of $292,000 or less per year in 2014 or $297,000 or less per year after January 1, 2015) and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour which requires an act of Congress and the President’s signature to change.
In addition to paying employees the increased hourly rate, employers must conspicuously post the new 2015 Ohio Minimum Wage poster. An updated Ohio Minimum Wage poster for 2015 can be found here: http://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2015MinimumWageposter.pdf
NOTE: This general summary of the law should not be used to solve individual problems since slight changes in the fact situation may require a material variance in the applicable legal advice.
If you have any questions concerning this client alert, please contact Attorney Michael J. Bogdan at 330-497-0700.